top of page
  • Writer's pictureTim McDougald

It's Race Week Again.....


This Saturday we head back to South Sound Speedway for race #10 of the 2022 season!


After our Twin Main outing a couple weeks ago we've had some time to regroup, go through the car, make sure we understand why it was as fast as it was and make some decisions on how we want to move forward.

I've had some time to reflect on the two races and consider where we are now as we look towards the final stretch to the end of the season. We've got just three races left over the next five weekends.


Looking at the points, it is becoming clearer every week where we stack up in this fight. We did have a great points night last time out, so that helped a lot. But I've dropped the ball on a couple nights now and missed a ton of points that have really hurt us in the long run. Those nights become hard to recover from.

Looking at the current standings, we've moved up one spot to the #8 position. We're now 180 points behind point leader Dominic Hunter from our previous 166, for those keeping score. So we've lost another 14 points to Dominic over the Twin Main night, he's just crazy fast and seems to have awesome luck. Not a great combo for the rest of us. On a more focused level, we leapfrogged Logan Cole, taking 8th from him, moving from 3 points behind him to 10 points in front of him. I'll take it. 😎 And, at the same time, we gained just 2 points on Eric Lee to pull to 40 points behind him. Not a real big gain there, I'm running out of time. 😒


So the reality is, I've got a LOT of work to do to stay ahead of Logan now and it may be unreachable to pass Eric before the end of the season. I need him to miss a race to make up for the race we missed due to mechanical failure. If you look back on it, that's basically the missing 40 points. But, we're firmly in the top-10 for the season championship and it's been a very long time since I could say that, so I'm not that upset about it. I mean...I am upset about it, but I'm learning to live with it. It seems there are some awards I'm just not meant to win.

Looking at one other noteworthy item, Bob Monroe holds down the 7th position, just 15 points ahead of me. That's achievable, we could theoretically make a run at that 7th spot down the stretch here. It's good to have a goal, so I'm starting to look at that. Hopefully the car is still fast this weekend, we didn't change much so I'm optimistic. I just need some luck for a change.

64 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page