top of page
  • Writer's pictureTim McDougald

Catching Up.....


Apologies for not keeping up to date on the blog, it's been a long couple of weeks with not a lot to report. But we're back to racing! 😎

I mean, "we're" back to racing. Not "me" though, mother nature has had other plans. My last post was literally two weeks ago and we were staring at a weekend forecast that wasn't favorable. That forecast played out with a rain-out that was called at about 10am on race day. So basically we had a free weekend, which I used to spend some time with the wife.


That brings us to last weekend, and Ashley's debut in the #92 Mini Stock at South Sound Speedway! It has been a rough season for both South Sound Speedway and Ashley, as both her first and second race were rained out. So even though this was her third scheduled event, it would be her first time in the car on a race day! Oh boy, here we go! For me, I am trying to handle spotter duties for her this season. It's a lot to do while trying to run my own car, but I feel like she needs me on the headset, I think it helps her stay calm. So I'm doing what I can.


The car was good, we've got a decent baseline setup in it that we really won't mess with until she starts learning how to drive it to the setup. That's where we need to keep working, on the driver. She's a rookie and she's never driven a car like this before, so we've thrown her in the deep end. 🤣 Early on she was just getting use to the car, so times were fairly slow, but throughout the practice sessions she slowly picked up the pace and by qualifying was basically 1 second slower than fast time, that's not bad, I'll take it.


From there we just focused on running laps and getting better. We struggled with an oil leak early on that didn't help her any, so as a crew, we have some work to do to the car. But Ashley did great, finished her heat race and main event and brought the car home in one piece. We can call that a win!


We have this week off, so we'll take the weekend to fix that oil leak and look at a couple other things we have concerns about and also do a little work to Gizmo as well. We head back to South Sound Speedway on the 25th for my next race, after our last one was rained out and then Ashley returns to South Sound Speedway on the 2nd of July for her next event. Our schedule gets kind of crazy moving forward after this weekend as my schedule shifts to "every other weekend", sprinkled with a few more races for Ashley mixed in there. So business is going to start picking up! 😳

31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page